Special Collection

Introduction and Services of Special Collection

 

Early cartography, Tong King Sing, Heungshan, and Macao researches are important resources to China’s East-West cultural interchange, as well as early globalization. Thus, the Macau University of Science and Technology Library (MUST Library) established the Special Collection Department in order to provide services to Macao citizens, research institutions and world-wide researchers. We sincerely welcome campus and non-campus users to access the Special Collection resources, as we strive to provide the best quality services to each and every user.

 

1. Introduction of the Resources

1.1 Old Maps Collection

      The MUST Library established the project “Global Mapping of Macao” (GMOM) in 2013 with the aim to collect, duplicate and purchase relevant historical maps of Macao from Institutions all over the world, and have since collected more than 7000 maps, divided into digital images, facsimiles and originals. We then organize, catalog, exhibit and publish these maps in order to provide the resources to users, both physically and digitally.

The GMOM project is research-centered, cooperation-oriented, and organizes international conferences, exhibitions, seminar papers and atlases. We cooperate with domestic and international scholars, libraries, museums, archives and other institutions. Hence, supporting the Macao research, collecting relevant Macao maps at home and abroad and providing map services to the public and researchers are our three foremost priorities.

1.2 Heungshan (Tong King Sing)

      Heungshan historical figures such as Sun Yat-Sen, Tong King Sing, Tong Mowchee, Zheng Guanying, Tang Shaoyi and Yung Wing, among others, made significant contributions to China’s modernization. Therefore, MUST established the “Research Center of Tong King Sing”, aiming to collect and organize related resources, as well as to provide literature for the relevant research. As of now, the resources include Tong King Sing’s letters and books; related documents of Tong King Sing, Li Hongzhang, Sheng Xuanhuai, et al.; Tong King Sing news articles in modern newspapers (Shun Po); Tong Mowchee documents and newspaper articles as well as Heungshan (Tongka) rare books, genealogies, deeds, rubbings, images, journals, etc. Furthermore, the databases we have also include a great deal of Heungshan research resources.

1.3 Macao Studies

    The MUST Library has always attached great importance to the collection of Macao research resources. Hence, establishing the “Macao Collection” which gathers modern publications, while cooperating to build the “Macau Image Gallery” collecting Macao photographs. Furthermore, other focus of the Special Collection is collecting missionary’s rubbings related to Macao, rare books, films, Chinese-English and Chinese-Portuguese dictionaries, modern newspapers, etc. We also cooperate with the National Library of China to access a substantial number of rubbings, which are important resources to the history of religion in Macao and Chinese-Western communication. In addition, the databases we purchased also contain abundant Macao research resources.

1.4 Rubbings

      We pay special attention to epigraphic rubbings on Central China, covering the period from Northern and Southern Dynasties to the Republic of China, with most emphasis on Tang Dynasty. Up to this day more than 1000 rubbings have been gathered, making it the largest collection in Macao. Among them, there are also rubbings with high literature and calligraphic art value.

 

2. Services

2.1 Special Collection Counter

      The counter is located on the 4th floor, Library Building (N Block) and provides timed services

Opening hours: Wednesday 15:00 to 17:00 (except on public holidays).

2.2 Appointment for in-Person Visiting

      Users can contact us in advance for in-person visiting.

Servicing hours: Monday to Friday 10:00-13:00 and 15:00-18:00 (except public holidays).

2.3 Online Consultations

      The online services include email and video consultations (if needed please contact us in advance).

Operating hours: Monday to Friday 10:00-13:00 and 15:00-18:00 (except on public holidays).

2.4 Resources Accessing

      The MUST Library provides reading service of Maps, Heungshan (Tong King Sing), Macao research, rubbings, and others resources.

2.5 Databases Consultation

      Part of Special Collection resources are available through our online databases:

Global Mapping of Macao (http://gmom.must.edu.mo/)

A. Crush & C.W. Kinder Digital Archive (http://crushandkinder.lib.must.edu.mo/)

Macau Image Gallery (http://mig.must.edu.mo/)

(If you have any enquiry please feel free to contact us).

2.6 Guided Tour for Exhibitions

      We provide on-site guided tours of exhibitions. Please apply in advance by email.

2.7 Special Research Consultation

      The Special Collection Department offers personalized research consultation to users to facilitate their studies. The consultative areas include old maps, Tong King Sing, Macao studies. To make an appointment, please contact us via email.

 

3. Contacts

  • Tel: (+853) 8897-2032
  • Email: library_map@must.edu.mo
  • Location: Special Collection Area, 4th floor, N block Library Building, Macau University of Science and Technology.

特藏服務

特藏資源簡介及服務方式

 

古地圖、唐廷樞研究、香山研究、澳門研究的相關文獻是研究澳門乃至中國在中西文化交流及早期全球化的重要資料。為此,澳門科技大學圖書館設立特藏組,旨在為澳門市民、研究機構乃至全球範圍之學者服務。我們誠摯歡迎校內外讀者使用本館特藏,同時竭誠為每一位讀者提供優質的服務。

 

一、特藏資料簡介

1、古地圖資料

科大圖書館自2013年起設立“全球地圖中的澳門”特色館藏,從世界各地搜集、複製或購買與澳門研究相關的古地圖,目前已經收集超過7,000張,分為電子地圖、複製地圖以及地圖原件。科大圖書館特藏組對這些古地圖進行集中整理、展示和出版,讀者們可前來圖書館查閱實體古地圖,也可以通過網絡瀏覽高清地圖電子檔。

“全球地圖中的澳門”項目以研究和合作為主導,並會不定期舉辦國際研討會、展覽、出版會議論文、地圖集並與海內外的學者、圖書館、博物館、檔案館以及地圖收藏機構、個人建立合作關係。為此我們有三大目標:一、支援澳門研究;二、搜集海內外澳門研究相關地圖;三、提供地圖查閱服務以供大眾及研究之用。

2香山(唐廷樞)研究資料

以孫中山、唐廷樞、唐廷桂、鄭觀應、唐紹儀、容閎等為代表的香山歷史人物,在中國近代化的進程中做出了重要貢獻。為此,澳科大成立了“唐廷樞研究中心”,旨在收集和整理相關研究資料,為相關研究提供文獻保障。目前已經收集的資料包括唐廷樞書信和著作、唐廷樞與李鴻章和盛宣懷等近代歷史人物相關的檔案、近代報刊(《申報》)中的唐廷樞資料,以及唐廷桂相關檔案、報刊資料,同時還包括香山(唐家灣)古籍、家族譜、地契、拓片、影像、報刊資料等。此外在我們購買的數據中也包含了豐富的香山研究資料。

3、澳門研究資料

本館特藏歷來重視澳門研究資料的收集,建立了“澳門資料”專藏,主要收集現代出版物,同時還合作建立了“澳門影像館”,專門收集澳門影像資料。此外,本館著重收集澳門傳教士拓片、古籍、膠片、漢英(葡)字詞典、近代報刊(《申報》)中的相關資料等。其中,本館與中國國家圖書館合作,獲取了大量傳教士墓碑拓片,這將對澳門宗教史、中西文化交流研究提供重要資料。此外在本館已購數據庫中也包含了豐富的澳門研究相關資料。

4、墓誌拓片

本館特藏重視中原地區新近出土的墓誌拓片的收集,時間上訖南北朝,下至民國時期,整體來看以唐代數量最多。目前已收集近千種,是澳門地區拓片收藏最多的圖書館。其中不乏文獻價值、書法藝術價值頗高的拓片。

 

二、服務方式

1、特藏櫃檯定時服務

本館在圖書館四樓特藏服務區設立特藏服務櫃檯,提供定時服務。

服務時間:每周三15:00-17:00(公眾假期暫停服務)

2、預約到館服務

使用者可根據自己的時間提前聯繫特藏館員,預約到館服務時間。

服務時間:周一至周五10:00-13:00,15:00-18:00(公眾假期暫停服務)

3、線上服務

本館同時提供在線服務形式,包括郵件咨詢、網絡視頻交流等。使用者如有需要,請先與特藏館員溝通。

服務時間:周一至周五10:00-13:00,15:00-18:00(公眾假期暫停服務)

 

三、服務內容

1、文獻檔案資料服務

本館提供古地圖資料、香山(唐廷樞)研究資料、澳門研究資料、墓誌拓片等檔案文獻的查閱服務;

2、特藏數據庫使用咨詢

本館所收集的特藏資料,部份可以通過在線數據庫獲得。如果使用者在數據庫使用方面遇見問題,特藏組可以提供使用指引。

3、展覽講解服務

特藏組可以為使用者提供現場展覽的參觀講解服務。為了提供更優質的講解服務,請使用者提前通過郵件申請。

4、專題研究咨詢

為方便使用者進行專題研究,本館提供專題研究咨詢服務。現時僅提供古地圖、唐廷樞、澳門研究相關專題的咨詢服務。如有需要,請先通過郵件溝通。

 

四、聯絡方式

  • 電話:(+853)8897-2032
  • 電郵:library_map@must.edu.mo
  • 地點:澳門科技大學N座圖書館大樓四樓特藏服務區